A pet-quality Maine Coon kitten costs a median of $3,000 from US breeders that publish a price, across 110 catteries in 35 states whose prices we read in October 2026. Half of them charge between $2,600 and $3,638, and their prices run from $1,350 at a cattery in North Carolina to $6,500 in Missouri and California.
That is the price of a kitten sold as a pet, usually with a spay or neuter agreement. A kitten with breeding rights costs more, with a median of $4,875 at the 13 catteries that publish one, and a retired adult less, at $1,650. Each has its own section below.
Prices vary by breeder, by region and by what the price includes. This is price research, not veterinary advice. Ask the breeder for the price, the contract and the health guarantee in writing before you pay a deposit.
How much is a Maine Coon kitten from a breeder?
Of the 110 catteries, only 5 charge less than $2,000 for a pet Maine Coon kitten and 17 charge more than $4,000; 62 of the 110 prices are $3,000 or more.
| Price | Catteries charging less |
|---|---|
| $2,000 | 5 of 110 (5%) |
| $2,500 | 18 of 110 (16%) |
| $3,000 | 48 of 110 (44%) |
| $3,500 | 71 of 110 (65%) |
| $4,000 | 88 of 110 (80%) |
| $5,000 | 105 of 110 (95%) |
Most catteries publish a range rather than one figure: 61 of the 110 give a range, 36 a single price and 13 a “starting at” price. For a range we count the midpoint, so Prestigious Purr in San Diego, which lists pet kittens from $3,000 to $10,000 by coat, counts as $6,500.
The lowest is Bald Mountain Maine Coons in Mars Hill, North Carolina, at $1,300 or $1,400 for a pet kitten. At the top, EuroCoons near Kansas City, Missouri, lists $5,500 to $7,500 for kittens from European lines. We compare cheap and dear listings side by side in why Maine Coon prices range so widely.
How much more does a Maine Coon with breeding rights cost?
A kitten sold with breeding rights has a median published price of $4,875, from 13 catteries. At the 12 catteries that list both, breeding rights add a median of $2,075 to the pet price, about 1.7 times as much.
Hissy Fit Coons in South Carolina, for example, lists $2,500 for a pet and $5,000 with breeding rights. Royal Maine Coon Cattery in Maryland lists $7,000 to $10,000 with breeding rights, the highest in the survey.
Adult cats retired from breeding are the cheapest Maine Coons breeders sell: 11 catteries list one, with a median of $1,650 and a range of $750 to $2,000. None of these is in the headline figure.
Do some colors, males or European lines cost more?
Often, yes: 15 of the 16 catteries that print separate prices for males and females charge more for a male, by a median of $400, and 10 catteries price by color or coat.
Conyers Cat Maine Coons in Georgia lists a standard-color female at $2,500, a male at $3,000 and silver or smoke at $3,500. Gold Rush Maine Coons in California charges $2,700 for solid colors and most tabbies, more for smokes and polydactyl paws, and $4,500 or more for blue eyes.
Not every cattery does. Elm City Maine Coon Cats in New Haven, Connecticut, charges $2,800 for every pet kitten and says it does not charge extra for males or colors; eight catteries say both sexes cost the same. The 18 catteries that mention European lines have a median of $3,375, against $3,000 for the rest.
Where are Maine Coon kittens cheapest?
Maine Coon kittens cost about the same in most of the country, a median of $3,000 in the Midwest, the Northeast and the South, against $3,500 in the West.
The gap between regions is smaller than the gap between catteries in one region. The South runs from $1,350 in North Carolina to $5,500 in Florida. Most states have only a few catteries in the sample, so the state table below shows only those with three or more.
What is the median Maine Coon price in each state?
Among states with three or more breeders, Florida has the highest median at $5,000 (3 prices from 3 breeders) and Arkansas the lowest at $2,000 (3 prices from 3 breeders). 20 states have at least three published prices and get their own row.
| State | Median | Range | Prices |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texas | $3,325 | $1,900 to $4,750 | 10 |
| California | $3,550 | $2,300 to $6,500 | 10 |
| New York | $3,350 | $2,850 to $4,250 | 6 |
| Colorado | $3,000 | $2,500 to $4,500 | 6 |
| Georgia | $2,700 | $2,050 to $4,000 | 5 |
| North Carolina | $2,950 | $1,350 to $4,550 | 5 |
| Michigan | $3,075 | $2,500 to $3,900 | 4 |
| Indiana | $2,550 | $2,500 to $3,250 | 4 |
| Maine | $2,300 | $2,000 to $3,125 | 4 |
| South Carolina | $3,100 | $2,500 to $4,500 | 4 |
| Missouri | $4,000 | $2,800 to $6,500 | 3 |
| Nebraska | $2,250 | $1,900 to $2,500 | 3 |
| Pennsylvania | $3,250 | $1,700 to $4,000 | 3 |
| Connecticut | $2,800 | $2,375 to $2,800 | 3 |
| Maryland | $3,000 | $2,600 to $4,400 | 3 |
| Arkansas | $2,000 | $2,000 to $3,150 | 3 |
| Tennessee | $3,125 | $2,750 to $3,700 | 3 |
| Florida | $5,000 | $3,000 to $5,500 | 3 |
| Virginia | $2,800 | $2,800 to $4,050 | 3 |
| Washington | $2,950 | $2,500 to $3,500 | 3 |
What does a Maine Coon kitten price include?
About half of published prices include vaccinations and a health guarantee: of the 110 catteries, 59 list vaccinations, 53 a health guarantee, 38 a spay or neuter before the kitten goes home and 24 a microchip.
Catteries that include more tend to charge more. Those that spay or neuter before the kitten goes home have a median of $3,350, against $2,850 for those that do not, and the 17 that say the parents are screened for HCM, a heart condition, have a median of $3,850. Our cat spay cost survey shows what that surgery costs on its own.
What costs extra when you buy a Maine Coon?
Delivery is the most common extra: 28 of the 110 catteries list delivery, a flight nanny or shipping on top of the kitten price.
Greek Garden Maine Coons in Utah charges $350 for delivery within 300 miles and $650 for a flight beyond 400 miles. Hissy Fit Coons in South Carolina lists pet nanny delivery at $600 to $750.
Sales tax can apply too: Megacoon Cattery adds North Carolina’s 7% and Exotic Coons adds California’s 7.75%. Fifty-eight catteries state a deposit, with a median of $500, and 42 say it is non-refundable.
How many breeders publish a Maine Coon price?
We read 243 cattery websites for this survey, and 129 of them, 53%, published a Maine Coon kitten price.
That is far higher than for veterinary procedures, because breeders sell directly to buyers and often post a price list. How we chose them is in our survey methodology, and every survey is listed in our survey index. For another breed, see our Bengal cat price survey.
Which prices we left out
We count one pet kitten price per cattery. Breeding rights, show quality and retired adults stay in the sheet, marked, and have their own figures above.
We also left out four listings from three sites that looked like resellers rather than breeders, three catteries whose sites give no location, two catteries whose price lists are dated 2024 and one from 2023, a price quoted for 2027 litters, a cattery that says it is retiring, and prices we could not compare: three that mix pet and breeding kittens, one range that covers two breeds, one average fee and one total the page does not state.
What should you ask a Maine Coon breeder before paying a deposit?
Ask each breeder the same questions in writing, so the prices you compare cover the same things.
- Is this the pet price, with a spay or neuter agreement, or does it include breeding rights?
- Does the price change with sex, color or polydactyl paws?
- Will the kitten be spayed or neutered, vaccinated and microchipped before it goes home?
- Were the parents screened for HCM, and how long is the health guarantee?
- Is the deposit refundable, and what do delivery and sales tax add?
Prices on this page were read in October 2026 and change without notice.
How we collected these prices
We recorded 110 published prices from 243 breeder websites checked in October 2026, logging the provider, city, state and the date each price was read, and we report the median. Download the price sheet (CSV) or read the full method.
42 further published prices were not comparable with the headline price (breeding rights, show quality, an early-generation or retired cat, or a price too old or doubtful to count); they are listed in the sources, and summarised separately where the text says so, but left out of the median and the tables.
Sources
One entry per provider: the prices that enter the figures, then any other prices on the same page that we left out, with the reason. Every row is in the CSV. Providers change prices without notice; follow the link to see the current figure.
- Hill and Hedge Maine Coons, MI (breeder): $3,000. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- ReallyCoons, Trenton, MI (breeder): $3,900. Also listed, not counted: 2 prices (show quality; adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Fluffy Giants Cattery, Adrian, MI (breeder): $3,150. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Koontucky Maine Coons, MI (breeder): $2,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Ohio Maine Coons, Lebanon, OH (breeder): $3,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Treska Maine Coons, North Olmsted, OH (breeder): $2,800 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Indiana Giant Maine Coons, IN (breeder): $3,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Fall Creek Maine Coons, Pendleton, IN (breeder): $2,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- King Coons Indiana, Rockville, IN (breeder): $2,600. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Bechlacoon Cattery, IN (breeder): $2,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
Show all 130 sources
- Wild Onion Maine Coons, Chicago, IL (breeder): $2,600 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Chatlerie Maine Coon, IL (breeder): $4,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Dynasty Maine Coons, WI (breeder): $3,000. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Zeus Pride Maine Coon Cattery, Onalaska, WI (breeder): $2,850 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Whiskercoons Maine Coons, MN (breeder): $3,200 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Fancy Minnesota Maine Coon, Milaca, MN (breeder): $3,500. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Iowa Cattery, Marion, IA (breeder): $3,100 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Buckelsbury Cattery, Williams, IA (breeder): $2,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Marne River Maine Coons, Kansas City, MO (breeder): $2,800 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Dashing Coons, Ballwin, MO (breeder): $4,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- EuroCoons, Kansas City, MO (breeder): $6,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- August Maine Coons, KS (breeder): $3,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- NebraskCoons, NE (breeder): $1,900 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- PurfecTigers, NE (breeder): $2,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- KingKlaudr Coons, NE (breeder): $2,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Perricoons' Maine Coon Cattery, Honesdale, PA (breeder): $1,700 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Cold Stream Cattery, Enfield, ME (breeder): $2,200. Also listed, not counted: 2 prices (breeding rights; adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- My Maine Coon Cattery, Bristol, CT (breeder): $2,375 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Joie De Vivre Maine Coon Cattery, Seymour, CT (breeder): $2,800 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Feathercoons, Wappingers Falls, NY (breeder): $4,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- PoppyCoons Maine Coons, Woodhull, NY (breeder): $3,450 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Elm City Maine Coon Cats, New Haven, CT (breeder): $2,800 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Native Roots Maine Coons, not stated, ME (breeder): $2,400 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Freyja's Maine Coons, Centreville, MD (breeder): $3,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- SheraCoons Maine Coons, Baltimore, MD (breeder): $2,600 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Royal Maine Coon Cattery, Westminster, MD (breeder): $4,400. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- CoonCats of Maine, Bangor, ME (breeder): $3,125 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Maine Coon Royalty, Brooklyn, NY (breeder): $3,550. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Maine Coon NY, Staten Island, NY (breeder): $2,850 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- BellaForte Cattery, Gansevoort, NY (breeder): $3,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Maine Love Cattery, Shillington, PA (breeder): $4,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Susque Maine Coons, Catawissa, PA (breeder): $3,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Thunderpaws Maine Coon Cats, not stated, ME (breeder): $2,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- At Last Cats, not stated, NH (breeder): $3,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Finger Lakes Moonlight Maine Coons, not stated, NY (breeder): $3,250. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Big Tex Coons, Central Texas (no city on site), TX (breeder): $3,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Texas Maine Coonery, Katy, TX (breeder): $4,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Mitcha Coontails, Houston, TX (breeder): $4,600 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Majestic Maine Coon Cattery, Canyon, TX (breeder): $2,800 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Suncrest Maine Coons, Marble Falls, TX (breeder): $1,950 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Dawntreader Maine Coons, Texas (no city on site), TX (breeder): $3,650 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Posh Maine Coons, Alvarado, TX (breeder): $2,950 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Pistol Paws of Texas, Terrell, TX (breeder): $1,900 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Warrior Kattz Maine Coons, Austin area (no city on site), TX (breeder): $4,750 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Mythic Maine Coons, Spring/Magnolia, TX (breeder): $4,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Smokie Okie Maine Coons, Okemah, OK (breeder): $2,300 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- HappyTrills, southwestern Oklahoma (no city on site), OK (breeder): $3,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Loveable Maine Coons, Little Rock, AR (breeder): $2,000. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Salt County Maine Coons, central Arkansas (no city on site), AR (breeder): $3,150 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Arkancoons, Alexander, AR (breeder): $2,000. Also listed, not counted: 2 prices (show quality; breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Meow Meadow Maine Coons, Central Kentucky (no city on site), KY (breeder): $2,750 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Nashville Coons, Nashville area (no city on site), TN (breeder): $3,125 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Marble City Maine Coons, Knoxville area (no city on site), TN (breeder): $3,700 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- House Of Lynx, Adamsville, TN (breeder): $2,750 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Backwoods Maine Coon Cats of Alabama, Centre, AL (breeder): $2,050 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Sassy Koonz Luxury Cattery, Jacksonville, FL (breeder): $5,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- AttyKats, Valrico, FL (breeder): $5,000. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- TiKi Kai Maine Coons, St Petersburg, FL (breeder): $3,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Beargap Coons, Toccoa, GA (breeder): $2,050 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Conyers Cat Maine Coons, Conyers, GA (breeder): $3,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Maine Coon Hill, Cedartown, GA (breeder): $2,700 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- MaineCoon Pride, Marietta, GA (breeder): $4,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Classy Coons, Martin, GA (breeder): $2,450 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Megacoon Cattery, Sanford, NC (breeder): $2,750 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Black Hawk Maine Coons, Vass, NC (breeder): $3,850 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Bald Mountain Maine Coons, Mars Hill, NC (breeder): $1,350 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- FireLynx Maine Coon Cattery, Charlotte, NC (breeder): $2,950 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Royal Maine Coons, Asheville, NC (breeder): $4,550 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Lake View Maine Coons, Taylors, SC (breeder): $3,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- AristoCoon Cattery, Conway, SC (breeder): $4,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Hissy Fit Coons, Travelers Rest, SC (breeder): $2,500. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Nacho Mama's Kitty, Aiken County, SC (breeder): $2,700 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Pampered Feline Maine Coons, Manassas, VA (breeder): $4,050 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- SaraJen Cats, Arlington, VA (breeder): $2,800 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Meowhaus Coons, not stated, VA (breeder): $2,800 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Gold Rush Maine Coons, Placerville, CA (breeder): $3,600 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Prestigious Purr, San Diego, CA (breeder): $6,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Ttcats Cattery, East Bay Area (30 min SE of San Francisco), CA (breeder): $3,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Amore Cattery, Roseville, CA (breeder): $2,300 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Animali Farm Maine Coons, north Santa Barbara County (Tepusquet Road), CA (breeder): $3,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Freedom Mountain Maine Coons, not stated (Sierra Nevada mountains), CA (breeder): $4,000 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- LMCoonCat, Riverside, CA (breeder): $3,600. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Wild Whisper Maine Coon, San Diego, CA (breeder): $4,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Exotic Coons, Coarsegold, CA (breeder): $3,200 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Whiskers and Paws Cattery, Canyon Lake, CA (breeder): $2,800 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Crystal Star Maine Coons, Portland, OR (breeder): $3,800 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- NW Coonies, Salem/Portland area, OR (breeder): $3,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Emerald Crow, Placitas, NM (breeder): $3,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Makanani's Hawaii Koons, Island of Hawaii (Kona area), HI (breeder): $3,600 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Colorado Maine Coons, Conifer, CO (breeder): $4,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Morningside Meow Maine Coons, Colorado Springs, CO (breeder): $2,750. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- RM Maine Coons, Rifle, CO (breeder): $2,600 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Top Maine Coons, Aurora, CO (breeder): $2,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Lise Madson, Antonito, CO (breeder): $3,250 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Maine Coon Maniacs, Brighton, CO (breeder): $3,900 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Greek Garden Maine Coons, Lehi, UT (breeder): $5,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Solstice Maine Coons, Queen Creek, AZ (breeder): $4,750 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Coons Ransom, Auburn, WA (breeder): $3,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Misty Creek Maine Coons, Seattle, WA (breeder): $2,500 (read 13 Oct 2026)
- WeeLegends Maine Coons, Bow, WA (breeder): $2,950. Also listed, not counted: 1 price (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Windy Hill Farm Pets, Millersburg, OH (breeder): 2 prices listed, not counted (pet and breeding prices not separated (kittens from $4,000 come with breeding rights); adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Myles Maine Coons & Cashmere Bengals, Warren, OH (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (range covers maine coons and bengals) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Tycoon Maine Coons Cattery, Cleveland, OH (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (archive page of prior litters) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Giant Coonies Cattery Ohio, Bedford, OH (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (reseller suspected) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Hoosier Heart Coons, IN (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (reseller suspected) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- LuvChild Cattery, La Crosse, WI (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (price dated 2024) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Night Silver Cattery, not stated, NY (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (the cattery says it is retiring) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Maine Street Coons, Birmingham area (no city on site), AL (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (price quoted for 2027 litters, not a current price) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Luv My Coons Cattery, Palm Coast, FL (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (an average adoption fee, not a kitten price) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Maine Coon Size, Miami, FL (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (reseller suspected (site claims miami and los angeles, many state landing pages)) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Virginia Maine Coons, not stated, VA (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (price dated 2024 (autumn 2024 litter)) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- WVCoons, not stated, WV (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (no location on site) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Peakekittens, Bonsall, CA (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (stale (2023)) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Giant Maine Coon Cats, Los Angeles, CA (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (reseller suspected) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Crystal Star Maine Coons, Portland, OR (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- NW Coonies, Salem/Portland area, OR (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (breeding rights) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Zia Maine Coons of New Mexico, not stated, NM (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (total not stated (deposit and balance only)) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- High Country Maine Coons, not stated, CO (breeder): 2 prices listed, not counted (location not stated; adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- Santolicat, Las Vegas, NV (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (pet and breeding prices not separated (priced on breeding potential)) (read 13 Oct 2026)
- WeeLegends Maine Coons, Bow, WA (breeder): 1 price listed, not counted (adult retiree) (read 13 Oct 2026)
Prices vary widely by region, by breeder and by what the price includes. Use these figures to know what is normal, then ask the breeder or rescue for the price and the contract in writing before paying a deposit. Nothing on this site is veterinary advice.